Sunday, December 21, 2008

LT's Jazzy Radio Loft & Lounge Review of Brian McKnight's - 'I'll Be Home For Christmas' - "A Beautiful Album! Smooth! 5 Stars!"

Brian McKnight
I'll Be Home For Christmas
2008 Razor & Tie Direct, LLC.

Every now and again, an album comes along that is special. So special that is stands all on it's own even when many of the standards and renditions have been done before. Every now and again an album comes along like this that is able to etch out it's own unique style and flavor to those classics, while still sounding true to that particular artist's own voice. Brian McKnight has accomplished this with his latest release, his new Christmas album, "I'll Be Home For Christmas".

Brian McKnight's silky, soulful, smooth sounding vocals are back with "I'll Be Home For Christmas". Brian McKnight has produced 11 albums in just under 20 years.

From Track 1 to Track 12, "I'll Be Home For Christmas" is a very smooth sounding album. At times it feels like smooth R&B. It then effortlessly segues into what feels like Smooth Jazz. From there is takes you into the smooth sounds of Urban Adult Contemporary Music. Next, you can sit back in your easy chair or curl up with your loved one and relax to the romantic, lush sounding "I'll Be Home For Christmas" that puts one in the mindset of an intimate Jazz Club as well as dancing with the one you love by the Christmas Tree in your living room by some candlelight. Just when you think he's done, here comes a beautiful rendition of "Silent Night". Next up is the Big Band sound of "It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year".

Brian McKnight's "I'll Be Home For Christmas" begins with Track 1. "The Christmas Song". The groove is so good it will take you back to the sounds of Marvin Gaye. See more in the video below and give it a listen and enjoy!:

Brian McKnight - "The Christmas Song"

Brian McKnight's live performance of "The Christmas Song" off his new album, I'll Be Home For Christmas.

There are several special treats of this holiday album. Many include the great duets. The featured duets with Vince Gill (Christmas You And Me), Josh Groban (Angels We Have Heard On High), Argentine-Mexican singer & former member of Mexico-based duo Sin Bandera, Noel Schajris (Silent Night) & Take 6 (Bless This House).

One is hearing Brian McKnight sing with his sons, Bj & Nikolas McKnight (Let It Snow). They sound absolutely great together. Brian McKnight, Brian, Jr. & Nikolas appeared on CBS' Second Cup Cafe earlier this month.

Brian McKnight, Bj & Nikolas McKnight - "Let It Snow"

Stand Out Tracks:

I can honestly say that every track of this album is a stand out track. There is something to love about each one. Here are some of the thoughts that came to my mind for each one:

1. The Christmas Song - Takes me back to Marvin Gaye. Smooth!
2. Silver Bells - Nice!
3. Let It Snow - Outstanding! Very impressive! Great harmonies!
4. Christmas You and Me - McKnight and Gill's voices perfectly blend beautifully together on this track that could easily be played on Country Music Formatted Radio Stations as easy as Adult Contemporary stations.
5. I'll Be Home For Christmas - Lush. Warm. Curl up with your loved one on the couch by the fireplace.
6. Silent Night (feat. Noel Schajris) - Beautiful vocals. Beautiful harp played on this one. Perfect pairing with Noel Schajris.
7. It's The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year - Big Band Swing, Baby! Oh, Yeah!
8. Adeste Fideles - Beautiful.
9. Who Would Have Thought - Great song. Great lyrics.
10. Angels We Have Heard On High (feat. Josh Groban) - Very nice. I think all of the Josh Groban fans will approve of this one too. Well done.
11. Christmas Medley - Beautiful medley.
12. Bless This House - Brian McKnight reunites with Take 6 for Bless This House. A perfect way to end the album.

Purchase the album at iTunes:
Purchase the CD at
Purchase Ringtones from the album:

During this time of the year, the phrase "a great stocking stuffer" can often be over used but in this case, it is really true. This album is as special as that special ornament or special star you add to your tree each year. Christmas is just not complete until you do that. This album has universal appeal in it's variety and diversity and is a must add to any music lover's collection. The piano work is beautiful. The vocals are smooth. The Bass Guitar work is extraordinary. The Drums are in the pocket in such a smooth way. It is destined to be remembered as one of the great Christmas albums of all time.

This album was done with great care. A beautiful album. 5 out of 5 stars. Highly Recommended.

No comments :